Friday, January 24, 2014

Akris "Akris" Domestic Genocide

Released: September 24, 2013

Akris, a duo of drum, bass and vocals, creates beautifully desolate music.

cheyka bessid~Drums and vocals
Helena Goldberg~ Bass and vocals

Try 7. "Riverbed" or 5. "Row of Lights"
adjective (of a place) deserted of people and in a state of bleak and dismal emptiness.
verb make (a place) bleakly and depressingly empty or bare.

The bass is ridiculously heavy. The vocals range from majestic warmth to harrowing abuse. Bassist Helena Goldberg is a classically trained pianist who began playing bass while studying piano and composition at the Manhattan School of Music (graduating in 2008). Although this music is punishing, Helena's musical skill is immediately evident.

Akris has a hypnotic component that draws the listener in like a good movie. Moving from luscious sounds to stoner groove, to Man Is The Bastard aggression, I am drawn in by Akris' ability to perform from varied sources with complete precision.

"Akris" could be construed as a difficult listen, but given the chance, the rewards are worthy.

Frank FOE

No comments:

Post a Comment