Thursday, November 29, 2018

Noi!se "Mass Apathy" 12"

"Mass Apathy" 12"
Pirates Press Records
Released: November 23, 2018

  • Noi!se is a punk rock band from Tacoma Washington.
  • I have been listening to punk rock for about 38 years. I have heard so much punk rock, that new material in 2018 sometimes goes in one ear and out the other. Noi!se is a current band that stands above the crowd, motivates me to write about, because I want to make sure you know about them. I love their sound. The guitars, the anthemic drive and power along with distinct vocal tonality and delivery.
  • Skinhead Rob (TRANSPLANTS/RANCID) lends some vocal assistance to "Mass Apathy".
  • This 12" vinyl single includes the one song ("Mass Apathy"), with a silkscreen print of the band's logo and "Mass Apathy" on the non-playable b-side. The outer edge of the record itself has a ring of bullets milled out... bringing to mind a punk/metal bullet belt ala Motorhead. The poly sleeve has a silkscreen of "We bury kids and we say 'It's a Shame'. Concern lasts less than murderers minutes of fame. It can all change in the blink of an eye. How Many More Children Have to Die."
  • In response to the recent barrage of public shootings, especially those involving school children, NOi!SE and Pirates Press Records will donate all proceeds from this release to several charities.
  • The five winning charities will be announced on December 7th, 2018.
  • Give "Mass Apathy" a listen below on Spotify or YouTube. 

  • Get yourself a copy of the physical record. This is a mandatory record to add to your vinyl collection. It hits on so many levels (physical uniqueness, charity, kids and the song is spot on)!
  • If you are a digital person, head on over to bandcamp:


Noi!se FB
Pirate Press Store

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

T.S.O.L "1 Thing"

"1 Thing" 12"
Release Date: March 2019

  • I did not know who Amerie was until Jack Grisham (vocals) told us T.S.O.L was covering "1 Thing"
  • Jack says: “I like go-go music and soul and anything that really moves. I first heard Amerie’s “1 Thing” in 2005, when it was released. F*cking infectious man, the way that groove keeps rolling, and she’s such a great vocalist. The lyrics were your basic relationship trip but then it hit me, this isn’t just a song about some dude, these lyrics read like a song to a system or a government that’d been up to no good. When she sang, “memories keep ringing bells” I was thinking of the state of our union today, the turmoil in our society, and where we’d been before—I was musing on our involvement in the Middle East, Latin America, Vietnam. I was thinking about the dirty deeds that this nation had been up to and then she sang, “why don’t you just admit it” and I realized that no one in power, not in this country, was ever gonna admit that we were wrong.” 
  • This is the video for Amerie's version of "1 Thing" (I now love Amerie):

  • This is T.S.O.L.'s version of "1 Thing" thanks to Spotify:

  • or YouTube:

  • I dare you to hit play on both Amerie's video above and T.S.O.L.'s spotify version at as close to the same time as you can.
  • Hardline Entertainment is taking pre-orders for the vinyl, which will be available in transparent red, white or blue and will have a black and white silk screened American flag on the reverse side. Limited to 150 units of each color. Records ship late March 2019.
  • Order up!

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Goatwhore "Vengeful Ascension" live at One Centre Square

"Vengeful Ascension"
Metal Blade
Released: June 23, 2017

  • I love Goatwhore. "Vengeful Ascension" is their 7th full length release.
  • I'm not sure I can pick a favorite Goatwhore album, but right now, this record still has me excited almost a year and a half after the initial release. 
  • Sammy Duet (Acid Bath/Crowbar guitarist) formed Goatwhore in 1997. I love Acid Bath. That New Orleans sludge phenomenon fascinates me and there is a Celtic Frost influence, which is a beautiful thing.
  • There is a freaking spellbook edition of "Vengeful Ascension"
  • Goatwhore is playing a gig with Casualties, Black Tusk, Parasitix and Great American Ghost at One Centre Square in Easton PA, Friday November 30, 2018. A show not to be missed.

  • Check the video for "Chaos Arcane":

  • And check the video for the title track:
  • And while you are at it, check the video for "Mankind Will Have No Mercy"

Oceanwires "Beware the Heartless" single

"Beware the Heartless" single
Released: November 9, 2018

Niffer Calderwood Photography!!! 

  • Seattle band Oceanwires debut album "There Never Was A Was" will be released on February 15, 2019.
  • While I don't usually get around to telling you about a band's release until much closer to the release date, I have been provided a digital advance of "There Never Was A Was" and I can not contain myself. I just love it.
  • Check out their video of the single "Beware the Heartless" that was recently released in advance of the full-length:
  • Steve Fisk (Nirvana, Screaming Trees etc...) produced the LP.
  • Steve Fisk also released one of my favorite CDs, "Over and Thru The Night".

Oceanwires FB
Oceanwires Page